New Vitus E-Sommet Electric Mountain Bike

Vitus are making some very nice bikes these days, and they have released the new Vitus E-Sommet Electric Mountain Bike for 2019. Here is a little look in to what it is all about.


  • Frame: Brand New 6061-T6 Alloy construction with longer, slacker and lower build and modern geometry
  • Forks: RockShox Yari RC “Boost”, 27.5”, 170mm, 37mm offset
  • Rear Shock: RockShox Super Delux R 205×62.5 DebonAir 2 Tokens, LL1 Tune, Trunnion Standard B1
  • Motor: Shimano E7000 STEPS drive system
  • Brakes: Shimano M520 4 Piston disc brake
  • Drivetrain: Shimano Deore M6000
  • Shifter: Shimano Deore M6000
  • Front Derailleur: N/A
  • Rear Derailleur: Shimano Deore M6000
  • Cassette: Shimano HG-500 10-Speed, 11-42T
  • Chainset: Shimano FC- E8000, 165mm, 34T
  • Chain: KMC E10T NPNP eBike (Turbo High Durability)
  • Rims: WTB ST i29
  • Front Hub: Novatec D791SB-B15, 110mm x 15mm
  • Rear Hub: Novatec D462SB-SL-S5S-B12-11S (eBike specific) 148mm x 12mm
  • Tyres: Front: Maxxis Minion DHF, 27.5×2.5” Double Down 3C MaxxGrip/TR; Rear: Maxxis High Roller II, 27.5×2.5WT, Double Down, 3C MaxxTerra/TR (Compatible up to 2.8”)
  • Saddle: Nukeproof Neutron
  • Seatpost: Brand X Ascend dropper
  • Stem: Vitus 50mm
  • Bars: Nukeproof Neutron 31.8mm, 25mm rise
  • Headset: Nukeproof
  • Top Cap: Vitus
  • Tubeless Ready: Yes, with tubeless rim tape fitted and valves included

=>Click here to see the Vitus E-Sommet at Chainreaction<=

What is the Vitus E-Sommet?

As you can see the Vitus E-Sommet has some pretty decent components. It is also relatively cheap for a full suspension electric mountain bike. At £3,199, it is very competitive and likley to lure riders away from more expensive brands. For example, it is less than half the price of an Intense Tracer Electric Mountain Bike.

The Vitus E-Sommet is an electric enduro bike, with 170mm of suspension travel. This means that you will be able to take on technical terrain a long way from home. The geometry is similar to some of the best modern enduro bikes, but it has the bonus of whizzing you in to the distance, thanks to electric motor assistance.


The suspension on the Vitus E-Sommet, comes from RockShox. Rather than the more expensive Lyric, it uses the very capable Yari fork. This has 170mm of travel, but has the same chassis as the Lyric. Therefore, you can upgrade them at a later date if it takes your fancy.

On the rear, you have 160mm of travel, thanks to RockShox Super Delux R shock.

Motor Assistance

The Vitus E-Sommet has the Shimano Steps E7000 system linked to the SLX. This system has three settings, that are selected with a simple push button. You can easily see what mode you are in (Eco, Trail and Boost) on the small colour coded display.

=>Click here to see the Vitus E-Sommet at Chainreaction<=

Other Components

The brakes on the Vitus E-Sommet are a pair of 4 pot Shimano M520 disc brakes. These use nice big 203mm rotors front and back, while a Shimano Deore M6000 rear mech and lever takes care of the 1×10 shifting.

Vitus is owned by Chainreaction and are heavily involved with Nukeproof. Therefore, the handlebars, headset and saddle are all from Nukeproof. This is all great stuff.

The Vitus stem is 50mm long, with the generous 455mm reach on a size M frame gives you plenty of room for movement. You can also easily experiment with shorter stems to bring your weight back for the steeper descents.

The Vitus E-Sommet rolls on 27.5in WTB ST i29 rims, with Novatec front and rear hubs. Tyres are the brilliant Maxxis Minion DHF on the front and High Roller II out back.

What are your thoughts?

Will you be taking the plunge in to the world of electric mountain bikes? If so the Vitus E-Sommet would be a great one to buy. With its lightweight, enduro geometry, quality components and value for money, I think we are going to see a lot of them out on the trails.

=>Click here to see the Vitus E-Sommet at Chainreaction<=

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.